Which States Have Enacted 6-Week Abortion Bans


Ohio governor Mike DeWine.
Photo: SAUL LOEB/AFP/Getty Images

Ohio is now poised to become the fifth state to ban abortion at six weeks. A so-called “fetal heartbeat bill,” which outlaws abortion before most women even realize they’re pregnant, passed the state legislature on Wednesday; newly elected governor Mike DeWine has said he will sign it when it crosses his desk.

If — or rather, when — Governor DeWine signs the bill, Ohio will join four other states that have passed similar six-week abortion bans: Mississippi, Kentucky, Iowa, and North Dakota. In addition, Georgia passed a six-week abortion ban back in March, and openly anti-abortion Governor Brian Kemp, who has voiced his support for the bill, has until May 10 to sign it.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here